A Different Christmas Story

Mdsmith
5 min readDec 13, 2020

--

The bartender eyed the old man shuffling into the bar, and what looked like a Santa coat slung over his shoulder. The bearded man looked up, came over, and took a stool.

“What’ll it be today?”

“Brandy on the rocks.”

“Sure. I see your red pants and coat. You got a natural-looking beard. You been ringing a bell somewhere today?”

“Worse than that.” The old man breathed a big sigh. He propped his elbows on the bar, then clasped his hands under the white beard.

“What? You been entertaining at a Christmas party full of kids or something?”

He shook his head. The bartender set his drink in front of him. The bearded old man picked it up and sipped.

“That’s good. Haven’t had this for a while. I’m retiring today.”

“Retiring from what?”

He stroked his beard and ran his hand down its length. Then he looked the bartender in the eyes. “I’m just fed up with this whole thing. I work harder every year and get less appreciation. So I’m just quitting. I’ve had enough — no thank-yous and nothing but complaints. I quit my job. I’m done. Retired.”

The bartender just smiled, nodded her head, and her ponytail bounced.

“What’s your name? Oh, let me guess…er..um…Susie,” he said.

“Susan, actually. How’d you know that? No one called me that since I was a kid.”

“Yeah, I know. I’ve got a head full of stuff. ” The white-bearded man finished his drink. “Well, I got to find Eddie Wilson. Doesn’t he live near?”

“Yep, right across the street in the apartment over the book store. He’s got a white beard like you, but kinda scraggly.”

“Thank you, Miss Susan. This was just a one-shot celebration. Hot Chocolate is my preferred drink.”

The man put money down that included a generous tip. “Merry Christmas.” He headed out the door.

# # # #

Eddie opened the door by the book store and looked up the narrow staircase to the store’s one-room efficiency. His thin frame trudged up the stairs, but the Santa suit with all its padding and the beard covered the skinny man underneath. Reaching the top, he unlocked and opened his door. Shock and surprise painted his face. “Who are you, and how’d you get in here?”

“Just like you, Eddie, I’m Santa Claus. Call me, Nick.”

“Yeah, you got a Santa suit, hat, and great looking beard, but you broke into my place.”

“Had a Santa-key. But I have something important to see you about. It’s about your wish.”

“You’re crazy. What wish? You’re just like me in this ratty old red suit, but I can’t afford to get a better one. Still, the little kids like it, and they like me.” Eddie moved and sat in a chair next to the intruder Santa. “You can’t grant wishes.”

“You’ve always loved children, Eddie.” Nick lowered his voice. “But you were never the same after your wife and three little ones downed in that ferry boat accident.”

Eddie was quiet. He lowered his head, deep in thought.

“Hey, that’s personal and a long time ago. What’s with you? Are you a detective?”

“Easy, easy, Eddie. I’m about to make your wish come true.”

“How do you know if I’m wishing anything, much less be able to make it come true? Who are you?”

“I’m Santa, retiring as of today. I know you’ll find that hard to believe, but let me just tell you what you got for Christmas every year as a child until you stopped believing.”

Santa stood and touched a finger for the years of childhood, and listed Eddie’s gifts from Santa. He saw the amazement grow on Eddie’s face.

“Well, you’re good, and I don’t know how you’d know that. But the real Santa?” Eddie just looked curiously at the imposing figure standing in front of him. Nick donned his coat, hat, and gloves. They sure looked real.

“Stand up, Eddie, and hold out your hand. Remember that snow globe you got for Christmas when you were five, and you accidentally dropped and broke it? You cried for several hours that day.”

Eddie was standing, head tilted sideways and eyebrow down, but he gingerly held out his hand, palm up.

Santa reached in his pocket and got a pinch of something sparkly. Santa rubbed his fingers, and miniature sparks drifted into Eddie’s hand, then in a mist, there appeared the snowglobe he broke as a child.

“Just a little elf magic to make you believe,” Santa said.

Eddie’s eyes were as big as golf balls, and his mouth hanging open as he gazed at the globe in his hand. “Only Santa could do that.”

“That’s what I’ve been trying to tell you. And I also know you love being a local Santa to all the children in the store each year.”

Eddie gazed without words but slowly nodded.

“Well, you are the new Santa Claus. I’ve resigned as of today. I’ve done my share, and you can take over for the next five hundred years or so.”

“Wow, that would be a true dream come true. Santa, are you sure?”

“Oh, I’m sure.”

“Hey, wait. What about Mrs. Santa?”

“OK, here’s the biggest secret of all.” Nick leaned closer and looked around. “She’s my sister.”

Eddie grabbed his chest and staggered back at this news. “Can’t be.”

“Yep, ever since we were kids of the original Clauses, we’ve been siblings. But you two will get along just fine. And who knows, you may like her enough to get hitched someday.”

Santa changed clothes with the new Santa, sprinkled more pixie dust over him, and instantly his beard filled out as much as his body did, and he was the real Santa. “Your sleigh and reindeer are waiting behind the billboard on the edge of town, Eddie. Enjoy your new life — Santa. I’m retired.” Nick backed away, admiring his replacement. “And a big Merry Christmas to you.”

The new Santa replied, “Ho, ho, ho.”

--

--

Mdsmith

M.D. Smith lives in Huntsville, AL, and has written 124 non-fiction short stories for Old Huntsville Magazine in the past 18 years. He’s written 150 fiction sto